Forclaz 2 Hiking Tent | 2 people

8300050

QUECHUA

Made for

hiking/bivouacking with a compact 2-person tent.
Compact 2-person tent with 2 doors and 1 storage area. all-in-one pitch/fold away features (pre-fixed room).

stock in stores

  • StoreQuantity

view all stores

Advantage
Easy transportCompact cover: 35 x 18 x 18 cm. Weight: 3.5 kg
Easy assembly / dismantlingall-in-one pitch/fold away features (pre-assembled room)
CapacitySleeps 2 120cm max room width. 1 storage area.
DurabilityResists wind up to 70km/h (Force 8):validated in wind tunnels on rotating plate.
Ease of use2 doors for easy access.all-in-one pitch/fold away features (pre-assembled room)
WaterproofTested under shower at 200 mm water / hour and in the field.
Easy maintenance2-year guarantee.Spare parts and pole repair available at Decathlon workshops.
Environmental impactLife cycle comparison: tent for sleeping - sustainability.decathlon.com
WarrantyAll of our tents can be repaired in your local Decathlon workshop.
Technical Information

1
Ventilation and condensation prevention
Bedroom contains mosquito netting for ventilation and water repellent fabric to prevent condensation and draughts. There is a large vent in the front of the flysheet, and another vent at the feet.
2
Dimensions and weight, folded dimensions
Cover with compression straps: 35 x 18 x 18 cm. Tunnel structure. Weight: 3.5 kg.
3
Guarantee
All our tents are guaranteed for 2 years of normal use (your receipt or loyalty card is used as proof of purchase). In the event of a problem, have your tent checked out in your local Decathlon store.
4
Poles, pegs
Poles: 8.5 mm and 7.9 mm fibreglass.Tent pegs: 5mm steel for good resistance to twisting.
5
Wind resistance
We test all of our tents in a wind tunnel with a rotary table to expose each side of the tent to the wind. A properly assembled tent with all the stays in position around the tent should remain habitable,e under wind speeds measuring 70 km/h at ground level.
6
Inner space
Length: 215cm. Room width: max. 123 cm, Max. height 95 cm. The porch, measuring 50 cm wide (at deepest point), provides space for belongings without blocking the doorway.
7
Sun protection
The fabric flysheet filters UV rays with a SPF of 30. Please note: a significant amount of UV rays can enter through a single open door: protect your skin.
8
Pitching/folding
Standard assembly, the fly-sheet and bedroom come pre-assembled to save time.
9
Waterproofing
All Quechua tents are laboratory tested (the WHOLE TENT under 200 litres/hour/sqm and for 4 hours!) and field tested before approval. Polyurethane-coated polyester flysheet inside, polyethylene 120g/m² ground sheet. All seams are sealed with thermobonded tape. The breathable, water repellent polyester bedroom and mosquito net prevent contact with droplets of condensation.
10
A score for comparing products' environmental impact
The product's environmental impacts are calculated across its entire life cycle using various indicators. An overall ABCDE score is attributed to help you more readily identify the products with the best environemental performance by comparing the same type of product (T-shirts, trousers, backpacks, etc.) Decathlon is committed to visually displaying environmental information. For more information visit: http://sustainability.decathlon.com/
characteristic
NO. OF PEOPLE2 PEOPLE

PITCHINGPOLES

BEDROOMS1

WEIGHT3.5 KG

MORE SPACENO
Information / Concept / Technology
Composition
Outer fabric : 100.0% Polyester (PES) Groundsheet : 100.0% Polyethylene (PE) Inner fabric : 100.0% Polyester (PES) Pole : 100.0% Glass - Fibre (FG)

Product test
QUECHUA tent waterproofing is approved for the whole tent under 200 litres of water/hour/sqm (200mm of rain per hour) for 4 hours. The water column test (=mm schmerbers) only measures fabric waterproofing. Our test means we can prevent any water getting through the seams, flaps, openings, zips, etc. Wind resistance: We test all of our tents in a wind tunnel and on a rotating plate to expose each side of the tent to the wind.Tested in real conditions.

Stockage tips
Storage: after use or cleaning, do not store your tent until it is perfectly dry to prevent odours and mould from forming.

Maintenance tips
1 CLEANING - if needed, clean the tent with soapy water, then rinse (with a hose if possible). Then leave to dry completely. 2 TREE SAP STAINS - ... (very hard to remove): Once the stain is fully dry, gently scratch it off while holding an ice cube on the inside of the fabric to make the sap brittle so it will come off more easily. 3 STORAGE - after use or cleaning, do not store your tent until it is perfectly dry to prevent odours and mould from forming.

Reviews

Sort by:
Not a good purchase at all
Used for 2 to 8 weeks
The only product I have purchased from Decathlon that has, unfortunately, disappointed me, and how!

Let me start off by saying like countless others, I am a huge fan of Decathlon and obsess over its products, cutting across all sports, and all kinds of equipment. It is a one stop shop for me for all my sporting needs.

I purchased this tent from the Decathlon store at Noida, NCR, a couple of months ago, and got the opportunity to use it recently when I went trekking to Kareri, in Himachal.

The night we spent in this tent was exhausting. The tent is extremely cramped, with no space for limb movement. The layout of the tent is also uncomfortable, with space in the "porch" at a premium, and having to crouch low to enter the tent.

The worst bit, however, was the fact that the inner lining of the tent, no matter how tautly it is pitched, always droops on the inside. As a result, our faces were throughout the night in contact with and covered by the inner cloth, which was, because of the sub-zero temperature, dripping ice-cold water smack on our faces.

I have spoken to other users of this tent, who have incidentally faced the identical problem with it.

I have used the Arpenaz XL many times, and that is an exponentially better buy, with which complaints are hard to find even for the harshest critic.

I made the mistake of buying this tent instead of the cheaper, more spacious, more comfortable Arpenaz XL. Make sure you do not.
Poor shape, Poor form, Cramped, Uncomfortable
Response of the brand
Hi Chetan,
Thank you for taking time to review the Forclaz 2 hiking tent. We, at Decathlon appreciate your loyalty and glad to be the “go-to” shop for your sporting needs. I am sorry that you had bad experience with the tent you purchased recently. The Forclaz 2, being a tunnel shape hiking tent does sit lower to the ground to allow better wind resistance compared to the free standing dome shape Arpenaz 2XL which is best suited for camping. It is a compact tent for hikers seeking instant shelter from the elements but as it is not a free-standing tent, it does require even and good amount of tension on all the guy ropes and the corners. Considering you slept on the “head-side” of the tent which is almost a meter high(95cms), if the fabric was still touching your face then there are high chances it required further tensioning.
As you are not satisfied with the product, I suggest you take the tent to your nearest Decathlon store and get a refund under our customer satisfaction policy. I am available at your disposal in case of any queries.
Kind Regards,Ravindra CharanProduct Trainer & Community Manager-Mountain Sports
Chetan found this answer helpful
Forclaz 2 tent
Verified purchase What is a review "Verified purchase" ?

Where review is marked as "Verified purchase" confirmed by Decathlon, this means that we could verify that the client who filed this opinion has purchased the product from us.

We can confirm purchases for the reviews expressed on a request by e-mail after purchase or when the customer has this review from his personal space.

If review is not marked as "Verified purchase", this does not mean that the author's review has no experience with the product may have given his review directly on the site without unique identification, or the product has been offered or paid.

The label "Verified purchase" lets help you judge the reliability of a review.
Used for 2 to 8 weeks
Good small tent seems to keep heat in really well on chilly mornings slight issue with condensation but for the price cannot complain. Enough space for two people but bear in mind it is a hiking tent. It's not the lightest but it's not going to be for the price. Overall I am happy
Price,colour, size, easy to pitch, two doors
Weight, condensation
Stood up to storms and strong winds
Used for More than 1 year
I used this tent at a small music festival on the Isle of Tiree during the summer, the tent was extremely easy to put up even though the weather had become quite gusty. The weather worsened and the campsite had to be evacuated as tents were blowing away left, right and centre. I battened down the hatches and left tent to its own devices, on returning in the morning after a very stormy and windy night, the tent had survived with no ill effects and completely dry inside.
Roomy enough inside for myself and my daughter, who had to ditch her own tent. I will be buying another one of these for this year!
Quality of the material
Roomy tent
Used for 2 to 8 weeks
Got this for one nighters with my two young lads. Enough room for 3 of us to sleep comfortably, (1 adult, 2 pre teens) We've only had it up for 2 short sessions in dry weather so can't comment on the waterproofness of it yet. This tent is very easy to put up, it took me around 10 minutes on my own the first time and I didn't bother reading the instructions. If you DO need instructions, they are printed on material and sewn inside the bag so you cant lose them. Packing away took about the same time and I even managed to get it all back in the bag! Good ventilation so not a lot of condensation. Can't wait to try it in less favourable conditions.
A doddle to put up and take down.
None yet
Collapsed and failed
Hi guys. I was given this tent as a bday present from family. I didn't want to offend him so I thought I'd take my frustration out on here.
I took the wife camping in Inverness Scotland for bank holiday weekend. The tent was easy to put up and worked a treat the first night.
However the second night we suffered heavy rain and bad gails.
I dnt no if it was down to the elements or me moving around a lot due to cramp space in tent ( 1 man tent ).
But suddenly one of the tent poles snapped and it collapsed on us.
We had no choice but to go back to the car and drive to my unlces. Due to the heavy rain and conditions and it starting to go dark we had to leave the tent.
It was a positive start to the trip to see family however ended in disaster. Dnt no if we were unlucky but but wouldn't trust the strength of the poles holding it up.
Bad experience and loss.
Response of the brand
Dear Sir,
I'm sorry to hear about your inconvenience with the Quechua Forclaz 2 hiking tent.
I have already forwarded your feedback to our product manager in France.
If you are not satisfied with the product you can return it to your closest store for an exchange or a refund.
Kind regards,
Reka Engel Angyal UK Market Manager Mountain sports DECATHLON
Survived- 60mph gusts- torrential rain for 24 hour
If you are looking for a well priced tent make the purchase. Did scafle pike on a very bad day.
-6 and torrential snow/rain all day and Gail force winds
. Withstood the elements and kept us 100% dry.
For such a small and cheap tent I really can't complain.
Easy to put up in bad conditions only took ten mins.
Only thing I would say is that is a little tight for two grown men. Bargian!
First Impressions
Used for 7 to 12 months
For the money, this seems to be an excellent tent. It is roomy, compared with many other two man tents. I like the longer, extendable side canopy on one side. With stub poles, you can set this up to give shelter in the rain, rather than messing about with tarpaulins. I have read reports here of the tent leaking, but it seems well put together to me. If it has been tested at 200mm per hour, that's 8 inches of rainfall, to us Brits, then I really don't see how it can leak if we are being told the truth. That equates to an absolute, persistent deluge. The groundsheet gives confidence compared to lightweight competitors which are quoted as having so many millimetres of head. What that means is if you lean on your elbow, it'll leak. This groundsheet won't. The poles are glass fibre and I did find the shorter one very difficult to insert. I cured this by cutting 1.5cm of one end, though you shouldn't have to do that!
More Rugged Than Lighter Alternatives
Weight, If You Are Hiking
Quecha FORCLAZ 2 tent
Verified purchase What is a review "Verified purchase" ?

Where review is marked as "Verified purchase" confirmed by Decathlon, this means that we could verify that the client who filed this opinion has purchased the product from us.

We can confirm purchases for the reviews expressed on a request by e-mail after purchase or when the customer has this review from his personal space.

If review is not marked as "Verified purchase", this does not mean that the author's review has no experience with the product may have given his review directly on the site without unique identification, or the product has been offered or paid.

The label "Verified purchase" lets help you judge the reliability of a review.
Used for 2 to 8 weeks
The tent provided the comfort and protection required. first outing in exceeding foul weather and yet maintained its integrity.
Light, easy to assemble and disassemble/pack
Easy to lose ridge poles
disapointed
Used for 2 to 8 weeks
well, at first i was happy with this tent, but it is very hard to put the tent on when you are alone (i'm a girl) the pole are like really, REALLY stiff.


after the second use, the metal thing on one of the pole broke and i had to deal 2 weeks in lost anglia surviving with a cut tent peg to hold everything
there is a replacing stuff with the tent already but no elastic, the metal are glued to the poles, and i spend hours trying to change it.


my third use, its the pole that broke,
and no spare pieces this time, i had to manage this the big pole only under peeing rain and the wind of the arran isle

i love decathlon stuff but i am really disapointed with this one...
(sorry for bad english i am a foreigner)
small and handy
FRAGILE, not easy to handle with only one person
Response of the brand
Hello,
I'm really sorry to hear about your inconvenience with this Quechua Forclaz 2 Tent. 
I have already forwarded your feedback to our product manager in France.
If you are not satisfied you can return the product to your closest store for an exchange or a refund.
If you would like to try another model with different pole system I would recommend you these products:
http://www.decathlon.co.uk/quickhiker-ii-hiking-tent-2-man-green-id_8206032.html 
http://www.decathlon.co.uk/quickhiker-ultralight-2-hiking-tent-2-man-grey-id_8245650.html
Kind regards,
Reka Engel Angyal UK Market Manager Mountain sports DECATHLON
Tried and Tested
Used for 1 week or less
Took this up to Great Moss on the 22nd August 2015. Check the weather - it was a thunderstorm and the heaviest rain I have experienced. It was bone dry inside in the morning, not a drop had got in. It took 5 minutes to put up. My only criticism is that it is quite heavy, but that is the price you pay for a product that costs so little. As a gateway tent to backpacking it was second to none.
Totally stood up to the elements.
Quite heavy!