7 Series MTB Black

8357287

B'TWIN

Made for

Adults who are looking for city commute, occasional mountain bike and sport touring.
Our first price, entry-level mountain bike: sturdy steel frame and fork, 6 Shimano speeds, all-terrain tyres and V-brakes for more braking power.

Sizes guide

stock in stores

  • StoreQuantity

view all stores

Advantage
Cycling comfortSteel frame and fork, comfortable material. Raised handlebar. Ergo Fit saddle.
EfficiencySturdy frame and fork. 6-speed Shimano.Wide, durable rims.
PrecisionDual V-brakes for more braking power. All-terrain tyres.
Ease of useA single grip shifter lets you change all gears. Built-in chainring guard.
Warrantylifetime warranty on frame, handlebar and rigid fork. 2 years warranty on parts (excl wearing parts)
Technical Information

1
Frame
Recreational mountain bike geometry made from hi-ten steel, with oversized tubes for increased durability. Three coats of paint to provide frame with long-lasting protection.
2
Fork
Rigid fork made of curved steel for added comfort.
3
Suspension
No rear suspension.
4
Drivetrain
Steel chainset, single chainring with 42 teeth, with a sturdy plastic guard. Shimano rear derailleur with 7 speeds. Shimano 6-speed free wheel. Microshift grip shifters for changing gears. KMC chain.
5
Brakes
Aluminium 2-finger brake levers, V-brake callipers with helical springs: more powerful and progressive braking. Screw hardware has anti-corrosion treatment.
6
Handlebar
Steel MTB handlebar, 580 mm wide.
7
Stem
Semi-raised steel 105 mm long MTB stem.
8
Steering
Aheadset headset: shock-resistant and rigid steering.
9
Saddle
Exclusive Ergofit saddle with a wider "hammock" shape that evenly distributes pressure, resulting in a more comfortable seat.
10
Seat post
Steel seat post, 25.4 mm in diameter, 300 mm long.
11
Wheels
Single-wall aluminium rims with 36 holes for increased durability. Quick-release front hub for easy removal of the wheel (for repairs or storage).
12
Tyres
Versatile 26-inch mountain bike tyres, 1.75 wide, offering high performance on roads as well as excellent traction on trails.
13
Pedals
VP platform pedals with bearings, offering excellent grip.
14
Weight
14.2 kg in size L without pedals.
15
SERVICES
If you will need a spare part​ to be replaced, we have it all at our workshop. You will have to drop by our workshop to get your cycle serviced.
16
DISCLAIMER
1) The components seen on the bicycle in the videos may change from the actual product. 2) The bicycle will be delivered in 85% assembled condition. The directions for the cycle assembly will be sent via mail ( if you have subscribed). The tools for assembly are provided with the cycle only for online buyers. 3) The 3-month, free check up is valid only if the user is able to take the bicycle to a decathlon workshop.4) All bicycle accessories need to be purchased separately.
characteristic
SizeL

Wheel Size26 inches

Weight14.2 kg (size L)

Life warrantyNo

SuspensionNone.

ColourBlack
Information / Concept / Technology
Product test
We recommend that beginners wear cycling shorts with a protective pad and/or a gel saddle cover to reduce soreness.

Stockage tips
Store in a cool, dry place, away from corrosive products and salty air.

Accessories

Reviews

Sort by:
Ok bike. Issues with tyres & chain
Used for 2 to 8 weeks
Bought it 3 weeks back. Was quite happy with the bike initially. But I am facing some issues with it now 1. The tyre's air pressure reduces every other day and you need to flate it before use. 2. Many a times in case of sudden jerk or while crossing a speed breaker the chain comes off which is quite risky on heavy traffic roads.
Best bicycle for beginners
Used for 3 to 6 months
I brought this cycle 2 months back. It is very good product and can recommend for beginners.
Gear System
Used for 2 to 8 weeks
I had bought the bike last december . The gear skips and now the gear system is completely broken. When i was riding on a plain road,suddenly the pedals got struck at a constant height . i stopped the bike at a side to see what had happened ,I saw that the whole gear system was in the spokes of my wheel!!!
I had thought the cycle is quiet strong,but the gear system was broken into pieces.
Took the cycle at Decathlon Hubli,Karnataka.
Easy ride
Used for 7 to 12 months
Have been using this over 8 months, for 10km x2 daily office commute. Only MTB is suitable for Indian city roads (my opinion).

However, the spares and service options are the key constraints. This is a very good bicycle, except for the cost of spares and service charges that decathlon charges us.
I have been to Decathlon Kompally and was denied while I asked for spare spikes for the rear wheel. It is restrictive to sell the spokes only for in house services. If this is the scenario, it is not possible to take the bike to decathlon for every spoke that breaks. On this line, it is not worthy of buying from Decathlon.
Response of the brand

Hello Bhargava,
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are working towards making all the spares available to our users. However spokes are something that we do have in our workshop. We are not in a position to sell the spares such as spokes because these are AMI products and we only have the liesence to use them in our workshops as services. We cannot sell them directly to the user. Please feel free to write back if you have any questions. 

Deepak Babu E-sport manager DECATHLON
The chain got blocked on first day.... Worst gear
Used for 1 week or less
Thank god...... The chain got stucked... But it didn't block the wheel... Otherwise I would have died today as I was riding on the hill.... I have recently bought this bicycle from Decathlon Ahmedabad... Please dont waste your money......
Response of the brand

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We apologize for the problems caused by the  bicycle in the drive train. During an upshift or a downshift it is recommended that the user pedals about 2 times before the next fear change. There are chances of the gears getting jammed if we downshift a couple of times very swiftly. However, we recommend that you get your bike examined at the workshop explain the problem and they will have a solution for you. 
Deepak Babu E-sport manager DECATHLON
Good for daily commute
Used for 2 to 8 weeks
yes, i did not use it for the mountain terrian, but give the roads in india, the road bike tires wouldn't last my office commute.
I've been using this for almost over a month, travelling 12 kms one way everyday (24 kms per day)
Comfort wise the bike is very comfortable, the seat initially hurt like hell (with the gel seat cover too) however upon some research i realized that it was due to incorrect height of the saddle, i fixed it and it worked fine

The gear shift was more than reasonable, however i found some issues with shifting from 5th to 6th (it would slip to 7th and sometimes the chain came off) but i think its more of an adjustment and i'd get it done with the free service.

The bike feels light and is pretty easy to ride (in terms of effort), on flyovers it does exhibit lack of additional gears (on the way down, the pedals are almost free as speed of bike is high), the brakes are decent as well, though they made screeching noise when i stop :) (good in a way to alert people that you are present as well)

I'd definitely recommend this to anyone who is starting off, the model prior to this (4999) is without gears, and unless one if ultra fit, it takes quite some effort to cross a flyover in city without gears on the bike.
gear problem
Used for 1 week or less
I thought decathlon is the great place to buy cycles but , after purchasing I felt very bad . because the gear system is not at all good , skips the gear and seat was not comfortable , simply waste of money . I want the decathlon refund the money for this cycle .
cost is very high for the quality of cycle
Response of the brand
Hello Manoj, 

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. Apologies for the bad experience you have had with the 7s men. If the gear in slipping you can take it to the workshop and get the derailleur tuned. It is possible that the bike was mistuned when it was delivered to you. We apologize for the same. The saddle in this range of bikes is the best comfort saddle that can be offered. For more personal comfort we would recommend a gel seat cover or cycling padded shorts. 

Deepak Babu E-sport manager DECATHLON
manoj not found this answer helpful
Very Good Cycle for Starters
Used for 1 week or less
I brought the bike 3 days back from Shamshabad Decathlon. The bicycle is very good for starters. But the biggest drawback is the seat, the Ergonomic Gel Saddle Cover is of no use.
Its Design and Easy to Handle
The SEAT
Met with an Accident because of Gear Shift
I bought the cycle on 25th September 2016 and I met with an accident on 26th of the very month.

I was riding the cycle on 5th gear and shifted the gear to 4th. The gear got struck and i was thrown by the cycle. I landed on ground on my shoulder and knee and as result my shoulder got dislocated and even my had a fracture on my leg. The next day had knee surgery and a metal was added to my bone.

I wrote several mails regarding my accident but they do not respond. One person called and was explaining that this is not possible.

I have also shared my medical documents with them but the customer support is slow and even after more then two weeks have not yet taken any action. They didn't even came for cycle inspection.

I will be lying on bed for 6 weeks and even then i will not be normal.

I am very disappointed with the product and the customer team.
Response of the brand
Hello Shariq,

Extremely sorry for the accident you have had with the Btwin bicycle. I am sorry that you have not got an answer from our end for a serious situation such as this. I will be your point of contact from the company  and I will communicate on your behalf with the stores. Please let me know from which store you have purchased the bike. I will work with the store to send a person to inspect the bike and to get the story from you when you have recovered. We will also parallelly look at the best possible solution which will help you to the fullest. Again, your apologies for the ill experience you have had with our product. 

Deepak Babu E-sport manager DECATHLON
Fulfils my requirements
Used for 1 week or less
Have ridden almost 50+ km in city, best for short commuting purpose.

Pros:
1. Very good breaking, gives a perfect bite
2. Brake lever give a good feel
3. Good quality frame and feels very light weighted
4. Easy to assemble, so very convenient while transporting it.
5. Tyre gives a decent grip on wet roads also.

Cons:
1. Seat comfort is very bad even while adding a cushion cover over it.
2. Some time there is very noticeable delay while changing the gear.

Suggestion to Manufacturer

1. Try to provide XL size frame for this model so that taller rider over 6ft can afford this entry level gear mountain bike.
2. Try to insulate or cover the exposed gear string on the frame which will give a better look.
scs